Advisory Council on Shell Fisheries

The Advisory Council on Shell Fisheries was created in 1953 and serves in an advisory capacity to the Director of Fish and Wildlife. It considers matters relating to the control and direction of the shellfish industry and the protection, conservation and propagation of shellfish of this State, and such matters as may be referred to it by the Governor, Secretary of the Department or the Director of Fish and Wildlife.

Contact Us

Rebecca Hoover
Recording Secretary

The Council is established in state law at 29 Del. Code § 8007 and is comprised of seven members, with each member serving a term of three years. The Council members are appointed by the Governor.

The Council includes one commercial lobster or conch fisherman, one commercial crabber, one commercial oysterman, one commercial clammer, one person knowledgeable in marine fisheries, one person representing recreational shell fishing, and a Chairperson who serves at the pleasure of the Governor.

Meetings of the Council are posted on the DNREC Calendar of Events and on the Delaware Public Meeting Calendar.

Meeting minutes are posted on the Public Meeting Calendar once approved at a later Council meeting.

Council Membership

Leonard Voss, Jr., Chair

Jordan Giuttari

Richard S. Hand, Jr.

Edward Hale, Jr.

Desmond Kahn

Paul Satterfield