Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact

Delaware is a member of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact (IWVC), an agreement that recognizes suspension of hunting, fishing, and trapping licenses in member states. This means that illegal activities in one state can affect a person’s hunting or fishing privileges in all participating states.

Logo of the Interstate Wildlife Compact

As of June, 2019, there were
48 IWVC member states

Any person whose license privileges or rights are suspended in a member state may also be suspended in Delaware. If a person’s hunting, fishing, or trapping rights are suspended in Delaware, they may be suspended in member states as well.

If a person plans to hunt, fish, or trap in another state, and they have a license suspension in Delaware, it is their responsibility to contact the other state to see if they can legally hunt, fish, or trap there.

This cooperative interstate effort enhances the Division of Fish and Wildlife’s ability to protect and manage the state’s wildlife resources.

The IWVC also establishes a process whereby wildlife law violations by a non-resident from a member state are handled as if the person were a resident, meaning they can be served a ticket rather than being arrested, booked, and bonded. This process is a convenience for hunters, fishermen, and trappers of member states, and increases efficiency of Wildlife Officers by allowing more time for enforcement duties rather than violator processing procedures.

History of the Compact

The concept of a wildlife violator compact was first advanced in the early 1980s by member states in the Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies. Law enforcement administrators and Wildlife Commissioners from several states began discussing the idea of a compact based on the format of the existing Drivers’ License Compact and Non-Resident Violator Compact, both related to motor vehicle operator licensing and enforcement.

In 1985, draft compacts were developed independently in Colorado and Nevada. These drafts were merged and the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact was created.

During the 1989 Legislative session, compact legislation was passed into law in Colorado, Nevada and Oregon. These three states formed the nucleus of the Compact.

In 2013, The 147th Delaware General Assembly passed legislation to join as a member state. Delaware formally implemented the IWVC and ratified the 47 other member states in June, 2019.