Absolutely not! To repeat: Burning trash is illegal. Since 1968, Delaware has prohibited the burning of trash by individual property owners, and by commercial, industrial, and governmental facilities. Burning trash leads to very high levels of particulate matter, carbon monoxide, and other toxic chemicals. Indeed, burning trash (especially products such as plastics, rubber, and other synthetic materials) generates extremely toxic air pollutants.
An EPA study has also shown that trash/garbage burning emits “furans” and other deadly chemicals (such as dioxin) and “heavy metals” including lead, cadmium, chromium, etc., some of which are known to cause structural damage in the heart and associated muscle tissue in both adults and fetuses.
So if you’re aware that a neighbor, or anyone else in Delaware, is flouting the state’s open burning regulations, civic conscience calls for reporting them. Violators also will be targeted by DNREC’s Environmental Protection Officers. Penalties range from $100 to $500, plus a possible criminal record with conviction. To report illegal burning, citizens can call the 24-hour Environmental Complaint Hotline at 1-800-662-8802. Verizon cell phone customers can call toll-free #DNR.