HSCA Advisory Committee

The Hazardous Substance Cleanup Act (HSCA) Advisory Committee advises the Division of Waste and Hazardous Substances on rules, policies, and procedures relating to the cleanup and re-use of hazardous waste sites.

Contact Us

Remediation Section
391 Lukens Drive
New Castle, Delaware 19720

Purpose & Rules

The Committee was created in 2005 as the Brownfields Advisory Committee. In 2013, the Committee was renamed the Hazardous Substance Cleanup Act (HSCA) Advisory Committee and its focus was expanded to include a wide range of issues related to hazardous waste site remediation.

Cleanup and Stewardship

The Advisory Committee helps the Division meet its goals of ensuring timely and effective cleanup of brownfield sites in Delaware with protective, equitable and sustainable remedies. In addition, the Committee helps address long-term stewardship for properties that have a remedy in place, as well as other HSCA issues.

The Committee also helps integrate DNREC’s objectives with other state and local goals for conservation and economic development. The Committee represents broad public interest and community perspectives for Delaware Brownfields Development Program.

Participation, Meetings, and Subcommittees

Meetings of the Hazardous Substance Cleanup Act (HSCA) Advisory Committee are open to the public. Meetings of the Committee are posted on the DNREC Calendar of Events and on the Delaware Public Meeting Calendar.

Committee participation is open to all interested members of the public, the regulated community, and academia. Anyone attending a committee meeting can be considered a participant. Those interested in joining may contact Sandra Woolston, at 302-395-2600.

The Committee has established several subcommittees to provide input on technical, financial, and community outreach activities including updating and developing new regulations under the HSCA, reviewing loans and funding options, revising sampling and data quality protocols, and improving public participation and community involvement in the Brownfields program.

Technical Subcommittee: Paul Will and Todd Keyser, Co-Chairs

Regulatory Subcommittee: Qazi Salahuddin, Chair

Finance Subcommittee and Brownfields Development Program: Qazi Salahuddin, Chairs

Outreach and Education Subcommittee

Ecological Subcommittee: Morgan Price and Wendy March, Co-Chairs