Conservation Districts

Delaware’s three conservation districts are involved in numerous programs and activities that help landowners become better stewards of their land, most notably the state cost-share program.

The Conservation Districts

New Castle Conservation District
2430 Old County Road
Newark, Delaware 19702

Kent Conservation District
Frederick T. Mott Conservation Center
1679 S. Dupont Highway
Dover, Delaware 19901

Sussex Conservation District
23818 Shortly Road
Georgetown, DE 19947

The New Castle, Kent and Sussex Conservation Districts are authorized in state law (7 Del.C. Ch. 39) to further conservation, protection, development and utilization of land and water resources in the state.

Conservation cost-share funding allocated by the Delaware General Assembly is provided to the districts to run locally-focused cost-share programs.

Each conservation district in Delaware has four elected board supervisors along with optional appointed board supervisors. The districts work closely with the whole of DNREC through coordination by the Conservation Programs Section.

Delaware Association of Conservation Districts

The Delaware Association of Conservation Districts (DACD) is a volunteer, non-profit alliance that provides a forum for discussion and coordination among the districts as they work to ensure the wise use and treatment of renewable natural resources. Using the association as their coordinating force, Delaware’s conservation districts are leading the way in conservation efforts in the state.

The Association also leads the popular Delaware ENVIROTHON program, an annual a “day in the field” where students are challenged to answer written questions and conduct hands-on investigations of a variety of environmental issues.

Delaware Association of Conservation Districts
800 Bay Road, Suite #2
Dover, DE 19901
302-741-2600 x 3

Related Topics:  ,