Workplace Charging

Workplace Charging is Important

Workplace Charging in Delaware

About 98 percent of electric vehicle charging is done at home or at work. Whether or not a workplace has a charging station can be a determining factor in an employee’s ability to purchase and commute with an electric car. Providing charging for employees provides several benefits to both employers and employees.

Workplace Charging…

Demonstrates willingness to adopt advanced technologies

Promotes environmental leadership

Contributes to LEED (Leadership Energy and Environmental Design) certification

Helps to double employees’ all electric daily commuting range

May significantly lower cost of employee’s commute

Allows for electric fleet vehicles, saving employer work-related transportation costs

Rebates are Available

Delaware-based workplaces can apply for rebates for up to 10 charging ports. Get up to 80 percent of the cost of the charging station, up to a maximum of $2,500 per port. Learn more about the rebates and eligibility requirements.

Learn More

Are you interested in learning more about Workplace Charging? The U.S. Department of Energy has released several documents to provide you with information about Workplace Charging:

ADA Design for Charging Stations: Provides guidance in complying with Americans with Disabilities Act Requirements for workplace charging.

How much does it cost to install a charging station? Factors to consider when installing workplace charging.

Outreach Resources for Employees: A collection of resources that provides tools, tips, and networks to support employer efforts to engage electric vehicle drivers.

Plug-in Electric Vehicle Handbook for Workplace Charging Hosts: A detailed guide on planning and executing workplace charging stations.

Learn more about the benefits of workplace charging.

Have more questions? Call the Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy at 302-735-3480 or email