Skip to Page Content Governor | General Assembly | Courts | Elected Officials | State Agencies
  Photo: Featured Delaware Photo
  Phone Numbers   Mobile   Help   Size   Print   Email

Skip Navigation LinksDNREC : Division of Air Quality : PubCommAmbientAir

Delaware’s Annual Ambient Air Monitoring Network Plan


On Sept. 27, 2006, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) amended its national air quality monitoring requirements with changes that help the EPA, states, tribes and local air quality agencies improve public health protection and better inform the public about air quality in their communities. The requirements are outlined in 40CFR § 58.10. The regulation requires Delaware to adopt and to submit to the EPA an annual monitoring network plan which provides for establishing and maintaining an air quality surveillance system.

Delaware’s draft 2018 monitoring network plan is available for review by clicking on Delaware Ambient Air Monitoring Network Description Plan. The public comment period on the draft plan was open through May 21, 2017 and no comments were received.  The Delaware Ambient Air Monitoring Network Description Plan will be submitted to the EPA by June 30. If you have any questions or comments about the plan, please email or call 302-323-4542.

Background  Information
Air quality monitoring station at MLK BlvdIn 1970, Congress passed the Clean Air Act that authorized the EPA to establish National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for pollutants shown to threaten human health and welfare. Primary standards were set according to criteria designed to protect public health, including an adequate margin of safety to protect sensitive populations such as children and asthmatics. Secondary standards were set according to criteria designed to protect public welfare (decreased visibility, damage to crops, vegetation, and buildings, etc.). Seven pollutants currently have these NAAQS: ozone (O3), carbon monoxide (CO), sulfur dioxide  (SO2), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), particulate matter less than 10 microns (PM10), particulate matter less than 2.5 microns (PM2.5) and lead (Pb). These are commonly called the “criteria” pollutants. When air quality does not meet the NAAQS, the area is said to be in “non-attainment” with the NAAQS. For more information on the EPA’s NAAQS, please visit:

For more information contact:
Chuck Sarnoski

Last edited: 06/05/18

site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |